The two subspecies

Traditionally two subspecies of Hermann’s tortoise are distinguished:

- Testudo hermanni hermanni (Gmelin, 1789) or Western Hermann’s tortoise (Spain, France, Italy and the large islands of the western Mediterranean)
- Testudo hermanni boettgeri (Mojsisovics, 1889) or Eastern Hermann’s tortoise (Mediterranean regions of the Balkan Peninsula and a few small islands of the eastern Mediterranean).

Life_tortue_hermann_78_sous_espece_Testudo_hermanni_hermanni.jpg   Life_tortue_hermann_77_sous_espece_Testudo_hermanni_boettgeri.JPG
Var Testudo hermanni hermanni and Macedonian Testudo hermanni boettgeri